RSS

March 2016

01 Apr

Happy April Fool’s Day! Last night and this morning provided a lot of laughs for me. A younger brother stuck my mouse to the mouse pad with blue tack, and my sister hung a pink and blue dress on the clothes hooks I recently put up in my room. My older brother also switched around the drawers at my computer. Here’s a few of the pranks I pulled:

  • Hiding my dad’s biking/running gear in the washing machine
  • Replacing my dad’s phone with a toy one and his computer mouse with a Lego rat
  • Putting a tiny computer screen on my dad’s desk in front of his much larger one
  • Removing the refill from a brother’s pen
  • Pulling out all the plugs on another brother’s computer
  • Changing my mother’s desktop background—a picture of our family—to the same picture with my youngest brother’s face pasted over everyone else’s
  • Texting “Happy birthday” to a friend

And a few more, which were funny but not quite appropriate for public mention. All in all, today has been a great day for laughter and pranks, and I’m happy with what I’ve done this April 1st. That doesn’t mean I’m going to refrain in the American April 1st, though… Hey. It’s only once a year. Might as well play it to the fullest.

But anyway. Let’s move on.

March has been an intense month for me. Since August 2015 I’ve been recording how many words I’ve written each day, and this month I’ve found that I do well writing 2000 words daily. Take a look at this snapshot of my records. (As you can see, Friday is consistently my best writing day, and Thursday my worst.)

March2016WC

Writing

  • I completed the first draft of The Teller’s Apprentice at 9:30 pm on the 29th! This developmental draft has ended with a massive 192,027 words and has taken me thirteen months to write—and the story I’ve written is a third of the story I originally planned with the OYAN course. I am so glad the thing’s done. Now I can leap into planning, reviewing, editing, revising, cutting and organising for the second draft. Which is shaping up to be much different from what I planned. Heheh.
  • I’m currently working on outlining 600 years of history for the Teller’s Apprentice world, Valdegurd. Since the story focuses a lot on story and history, this project is important to me, and I’m loving what I’ve got out of it so far.
  • Recently I’ve discovered that freewriting—taking a topic of my books and writing freely—is one of the best ways for me to develop my stories. Ideas come best to me when I’m putting them down on paper, and as I write more ideas flow and connect.
  • Camp NaNoWriMo is this month! I may enter to work on my Histories of Valdegurd project, but we’ll see.

CNW_Participant_v02

Reading

  • I discovered the entire Sherlock Holmes bibliography in the public domain on Wikisource and read the entire The Return of Sherlock Holmes collection in one day.
  • I’m currently reading the Tales of Goldstone Wood series for the second time in a not quite chronological order: Heartless, Veiled Rose, Moonblood, Shadow Hand, Goddess Tithe, Starflower. The next one on my list to read is Dragonwitch.
  • April offers new opportunities for new books! Part 3 of Jill Williamson’s Kinsman Chronicles, The End of All Things, is coming out on the 5th, and Ranger’s Apprentice #4: Oakleaf Bearers is becoming available in my library’s ebook collection on the 4th. I’m also eagerly waiting for Gillian Bronte Adams’ Songkeeper, book 2 in the Songkeeper Chronicles.

Life

  • Life has been…mainly focused around writing and reading this month, to be honest. So, Number 1: I finished my first draft!
  • Now that I’ve finished my developmental draft, however I intend to come out of my writer’s cave a little more. On the 31st I spent part of the afternoon organising games after our local writer’s group, which is composed of a few homeschooling families with children and teens aged from like one-year-olds to young adults almost 20.
  • This year is the second year I’ve done ballet, and I’m planning to do the Grade 5 ballet exam at the end of the year, which I chose not to do last year. I have two ballet lessons a week, one by myself and the other with a class of three girls, two of whom also go to the aforementioned writer’s group.

Plans for April

  • In April I plan to be a little more social than I have been in March.
  • Reading! The above books will be available soon, after which I hope to read the rest of the Sherlock Holmes bibliography, the rest of the Ranger’s Apprentice series and the rest of the Goldstone Wood series. Let’s see if I can get through them all in April.
  • As far as writing goes, I want to freewrite a lot, plan a lot, finish my Histories of Valdegurd project and sort out my ideas for the second draft of The Teller’s Apprentice. Which is likely not going to have the same title as the first draft.

What have you done in March? What do you plan to do in April?

Matthew

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2016 in Monthly Summaries

 

4 responses to “March 2016

  1. sarahtps

    April 2, 2016 at 2:15 am

    Congratulations on finishing The Teller’s Apprentice! That’s awesome! And I’m sure you’ll enjoy Dragonwitch once you get it. :D And Golden Daughter, which is (as you probably know) my second favorite in the series.
    I am attempting to avoid April Fool’s Day . . . and failing, because a blogging friend of mine pulled an absolutely evil prank on me yesterday. Which was doubly effective because it technically was April Fool’s for her (she’s a NZer like you) but not yet for me . . . so I thought it was real and got pretty worked up until I realized what was going on. (I’d tell you what it was, but as I’m debating stealing it for another year . . . nah.)

     
    • Matthew

      April 2, 2016 at 10:53 am

      Thank you! And after rereading Dragonwitch, I’ve decided that it ranks alongside Moonblood for my second favourite in the series. At this point Golden Daughter is my favourite, and another reread will either confirm it there or drop it below the other two.

      Heheh. I debated playing a few on the Undergrounders, such as saying I’d be leaving CaC2 or Cosmere or closing down this blog—or even sending weird stalkerish emails from a different address. Has your family pranked you at all this year?

       
      • sarahtps

        April 3, 2016 at 1:09 am

        *in which I got confused about reading vs. rereading and various other stuffs* Sorry. But, yes, Dragonwitch and Moonblood are about equal in levels of awesomeness . . . though Heartless is, and probably always will be, my very favorite.
        I was fully expecting you to do something like that . . . and, of course, I would have distrusted anything you said along those lines. xD
        My family didn’t prank me, no. No one in my family is really into that . . . I’m pretty sure the only time anyone does it is when I attempt it first.

         
      • Matthew

        April 4, 2016 at 8:51 am

        Then for future reference, I’ve read all but Golden Daughter twice. And yes, Heartless is one of the best.

        Right. Maybe my prankish nature has become a bit too obvious. What can I do differently now, I wonder…? *strokes beard in thought*

        You’re safe then. :P My family is prankish. We get it from my dad and his parents.

         

Share your thoughts.

 
