RSS

Liebster Award

27 Feb

I’ve been waiting for another tag recently, and Bonnie of Bonnie’s Blessings has just tagged me with the Liebster Award. I don’t understand the award part of it—it just looks like a tag to me—but I’m happy to do it nonetheless. Please be aware that I am in a sarcastic, satirical and critical mood and will therefore not be a good little boy and answer the questions just as they are.

Rules. All tags must have rules, I guess. I must first link back to the person who tagged me. Look in the first paragraph. Then I must answer all 11 questions. That’s down below. Next I must tag 11 bloggers who have less than a thousand readers. I object to the phrasing used here. Is it a thousand readers or a thousand followers? I officially follow one blog but read many more. It is nigh impossible to judge readers, so I will adjust the criticised statement to “11 bloggers who have less than a thousand followers”. Fourth I must ask these bloggers 11 questions, and lastly I have to make these people aware of their fortune through social media. (BTW. If you want a nice numbered list of the rules, pinch them off Bonnie’s post.)


 

1. What is the scariest thing you have ever done?
I…don’t know. I am not the sort of person who treats scary things as thrilling challenges. Does reading scary books count? Imagining scary book ideas? I recall being scared the first time I abseiled. And trying to phone people. (I do not like ringing people up.)

2. If someone asked you to give them a random piece of advice, what advice would you give them?
You don’t find time. You make time.

3. Who are some famous people (currently alive) that you would like to meet someday?
What constitutes a famous person? There are some people I know of and respect and would love to meet in person, so I’ll go with them. Daniel Schwabauer. Brandon Sanderson. Christopher Hopper. Probably a few more who I can’t think of at this point. But really I’d prefer to meet the friends I haven’t spent time with in person.

4. Do you like to plan things out in detail or be spontaneous?
Oh, I plan my books out in detail. And then I’m spontaneous when I write them. Basically I build upon my plans with spontaneity. (I find the fact that I do so quite amusing.)

5. What is your favourite joke?
I have no favourite joke. I appreciate most jokes, but I do not have a favourite one.

6. Who or what in your life has influenced you the most?
That’s really not a fair question. How am I meant to calculate the influence of everyone and everything I have encountered? My parents, my siblings, my grandparents and my extended family have all served to shape me into the person I am today. So have the authors I’ve read, especially Bryan Davis, Jerry B. Jenkins, Anthony Hope and Brandon Sanderson among others. My faith. My church. The Bible. What has had the most influence on me this year is the study How to Develop a Quiet Time by Eddie Rasnake. Even my own writings have helped to shape me. I’ve learned things about myself from The Teller’s Apprentice. I am who I am because of many influences, not just one.

7. Do you like spicy food?
If you would like to know the answer to this question, you may come to my place for lunch one day.

8. If you could try out any job for a day, which job would you pick?
I would argue that trying out a job for a day would not give me an accurate impression of the job. Most if not all jobs would be new and exciting the first day. It’s the persistence and discipline in a job that shows you what the job is actually like. Still, I would like to see what it’s like being a wilderness guide.

9. If you could learn one random skill, which skill would it be?
A natural proficiency at phone conversations.

10. What is the biggest personal change you have ever made?
I can think of a few.

11. If someone were to make a movie about your life so far, what would that movie be called?
I’m pretty sure the title would be chosen by the producer, not me. Why don’t you ask him? I’m thinking Matthew Sampson: The Greatest Author of All Time, but I’m open to suggestions.


 

And now for my questions. Should you read this, consider yourself tagged. Bwahaha. Have fun. Please observe my love of satire.

  1. What is your full name?
  2. When is your birthday?
  3. Where do you live?
  4. What is your family like?
  5. What faith do you profess?
  6. What is your secret dream?
  7. What is your secret fear?
  8. Who do you want to be like?
  9. What is one thing you’ve never told anyone?
  10. What is your calling in life?
  11. Why do you believe I am a stalker?

Matthew

 
13 Comments

Posted by on February 27, 2016 in Tags

 

13 responses to “Liebster Award

  1. sarahtps

    February 27, 2016 at 11:57 am

    I don’t know. I think a movie about your life would probably be called ‘Matthew Sampson: Killer of Characters’ or something like that. (Though, in all fairness, I don’t know your count of killed-off characters, other than it’s higher than mine.)
    I sympathize with the phone conversation thing, particularly if I’m talking to someone official . . . I usually try to find reasons why someone other than me is more qualified for those particular conversations. :P

     
    • Matthew

      February 27, 2016 at 1:02 pm

      Seriously? Jorus and Lux were the only two you really reacted to. Gadrith, Arack and Cole died as a consequence of my battling with NightBlade. Tarmys, Helm and Orfful didn’t really die. I didn’t have Thorn when he died, and I have killed one named character total in Cosmere Adventures—and he was introduced in the same post for that purpose. I do not believe your suggested movie title would accurately portray my life.

      Heh. Well, I find I’m nervous even when I’m talking to someone I know well.

       
      • sarahtps

        February 27, 2016 at 4:06 pm

        (A)I was including book characters, not just roleplay characters, and (B)I was joking, mostly. I’m aware that other people (*cough*NightbladeandGameymostly*cough*) kill off far more characters than you do.
        Do you like “Matthew Sampson: Plotter of Twists” better? ‘Cause you can’t possibly try to claim that doesn’t describe your life.
        Hmm. I can still understand that.

         
      • Matthew

        February 27, 2016 at 5:14 pm

        Hmm…which book characters are you referring to? I can only think of Scars of Freedom that you’ve read, and I don’t recall killing off anyone in that book save for multiple unnamed thorakai. I admit that yes, I have been killing off characters in The Teller’s Apprentice, but you can’t use that as your example because you haven’t read the current version.

        Plotter of Twists would be a better title. I shall suggest it to the producer.

         
  2. Matthew Mischewski

    February 27, 2016 at 5:51 pm

    Haha, I like your question number 9.

     
    • Matthew

      February 27, 2016 at 5:54 pm

      Thank you. What about it do you like in particular?

       
      • Matthew Mischewski

        February 27, 2016 at 8:46 pm

        That you’re getting them to tell something they’ve never told anyone.

         
      • Matthew

        February 29, 2016 at 10:25 am

        Oh, I see. I thought you were referring to my answer number 9. I am suitably enlightened.

         
  3. Laura Brand

    February 27, 2016 at 11:35 pm

    Hiya, I know you didn’t ask me, but if I was to have a book/movie made about me, I’d want it to be called “Laura Story: Dancing in the Minefields” (but of course I couldn’t use either part of the name, so I’ll have to dream up something else…)

     
    • Matthew

      February 29, 2016 at 10:29 am

      Have you been dancing in minefields? Or is it that you like Laura Story and Andrew Peterson music? ;)

       
      • Laura Brand

        March 2, 2016 at 1:41 pm

        Both to be honest…particularly the “this is harder than [I] dreamed, but that’s what the promise is for” but then can’t get enough AP…

         
  4. Eddie Rasnake

    September 17, 2017 at 1:25 pm

    Thanks for the kind words about “How to Develop a Quiet Time” – so glad to hear that you found it meaningful! – Eddie Rasnake

     
    • Matthew

      September 18, 2017 at 11:46 am

      Thank you for making it! The thoughts and ideas continue to affect my understanding of prayer to this day.

       

Share your thoughts.

 
