RSS

Distraction Free Headset: A How-To

03 Feb

Recently I’ve discovered a new way to write without distractions. No, it’s not shifting my office. No, it’s not teleporting the family to a desert island while I’m writing. No, it’s not creating a magical silence shield around my head so I can’t hear anything.

Well, maybe it’s a bit like that last one.

The Distraction Free Headset is a customised sound dampener for your ears. It’s simple to make and easy to wear, and the components are very common. Sharing this secret might ruin my chances of making a fortune out of it, but here goes. Drumroll, please? The components are…

(dun dun DUN)

One beanie. Two socks.

And now instructions for setting up the Distraction Free Headset. Put the beanie on your head and pull it down as far as it will go. Fold up the front edge only to make your view better. Now take the socks. Small socks work better than larger ones. Please note that these socks do not have to be a pair, but having socks the same size is more comfortable.

Lay the socks flat. Fold them halfway, then halfway again. Lift up the side of the beanie and stuff the folded socks into your ears. If an edge of the sock goes into your ear, the muffling works better.

Congratulations! You now have a customised sound dampener to free you of distractions. Please write to me and tell me how well the Distraction Free Headset works for you. I plan to monetise this product, and the more feedback I get the better.

Matthew

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2016 in Randomness

 

6 responses to “Distraction Free Headset: A How-To

  1. Lylyss

    February 3, 2016 at 9:42 am

    Necessity is the mother of invention. Lol. xD All of my beanies are back home in the USA, otherwise I’d definitely give it a try.

     
    • Matthew

      February 3, 2016 at 9:45 am

      Aw. The Distraction Free Headset revolutionises my writing, even if it is a bit itchy. :P Sorry you can’t share in this beneficial invention. Although you’re going back soon for a visit, aren’t you? You might be able to pick some up then.

       
  2. sarahtps

    February 3, 2016 at 10:07 am

    Heh. Good idea . . . though I’ve found that a nice pair of over-the-ear headphones works pretty well too. xD I can’t write without music, though, so . . . yeah.

     
    • Matthew

      February 4, 2016 at 9:28 am

      Yeah, those would work too. I can’t write with music, though—or at least I’ve never seriously tried. I like to surround myself in silence and step into my fictional world.

       
  3. warriorofaror

    February 21, 2016 at 10:11 am

    This is a very interesting idea. Personally I don’t need it, as I can write at under almost any circumstances – except for when someone is watching a movie or listening to an audiobook in the next room, or whenever someone is playing music. Yes, it actually hurts me to listen to music as I write. I start to write to the music rather than to the story.

     
    • Matthew

      February 22, 2016 at 2:11 pm

      Hahah. Thank you. Sounds like it’s spoken words that get you. Are you talking about music with lyrics or instrumental music? Does even instrumental music make you unable to write?

       

Share your thoughts.

 
